Buyer Rep
Find this page again at:
https://www.onlineed.com/catalog/California/mortgage/continuing-education

California Continuing Education Courses for Mortgage License Renewal

Thousands of students each year renew with mortgage continuing education courses from OnlineEd. Let's make it easy!

Learn which NMLS CE courses you need in California and how you can renew your mortgage license online.

NMLS Continuing Education for everyone

Shop Courses How To Renew A License Frequently Asked Questions State Requirements About OnlineEd Need Help?

Confused? California MLO Continuing Education Quick Guide:

Our NMLS CE Courses for California Licensees:

OnlineEd's Mortgage Continuing Education Courses

One of the best deals online. Go ahead and compare!

  • We price-match any competitor. Just call us!
  • All courses are online. No special downloads required.
  • Modern, easy to use course delivery system.
  • We carry all state-specific electives.
  • Credit uploaded to NMLS within one business day.
  • All courses written by our own in-house team.
  • Offering NMLS CE since 2009. NMLS Provider #1400327.

Shop Courses

California MLO Continuing Education Requirements:

DRE or DFPI? Your California MLO license was either issued by the Department of Financial Protection and Innovation (DFPI) or the Department of Real Estate (DRE). Each has different education requirements. If you are not sure, look up your record on the NMLS website.

DRE Requirements: If you are a mortgage loan originator licensed with the DRE, you only need to take the minimum 8-hour NMLS continuing education required by the SAFE Act. No California-specific education is required. All education must be completed by December 31. You may also choose our dual-credit NMLS/DRE CE course which provides 8 hours of both NMLS and DRE real estate CE credit. If you need all 45 hours for renewing your real estate license, you can get our 45-hour Ed-Pak SAFE DRE/NMLS real estate package. It includes 8 hours for your CA mortgage license renewal and everything else for your CA real estate license renewal.

DFPI Requirements: If you are a mortgage loan originator licensed with the DFPI, you must take 7 hours of core mortgage continuing education and a 1 hour California DFPI elective course. All education must be completed by December 31. Get your DFPI mortgage license renewal package here.

General SAFE Act CE Requirements: The SAFE Act requires licensed Mortgage Loan Originators to take a minimum of 8 hours of continuing education (CE) every year. The NMLS mortgage continuing education license renewal credit hours must be in the following categories:

Each state has its own continuing education requirements. If you are licensed in other states, check with each state to learn if you need to take any state-specific electives. See the NMLS education chart for details.

Don't wait until the last minute! Be sure to get your CE done at least 10 days before the due date. This will allow time for the CE credit to be uploaded to the NMLS database and for you to complete your license renewal paperwork. If you take your CE on December 31, you will certainly NOT get your license renewed on time.

I completed my CE. Now what? When a course is completed, OnlineEd will upload your credits to the NMLS database within one business day. We will send you a notification by email when this is done. Afterward, you can move forward with renewing your license through the NMLS website.

Shop Courses

Frequently Asked Questions About Mortgage License Renewal

What continuing education courses do I need to take?

You need a minimum of 8 credit hours per year. Some states require additional hours and state-specific courses. Look up your NMLS education record on the NMLS website to see which credits you need. See the NMLS State-Specific Education Requirements chart for more information on the states you are licensed in.

What is the deadline for mortgage continuing education?

Each state has it's own deadline. The deadline for CE completion is December 31 in most states. Some states have earlier deadlines: Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Puerto Rico, South Carolina (DCA), Vermont, Washington, West Virginia. See the NMLS State-Specific Education Requirements chart for more information.

What are "smart CE deadlines" that I see the NMLS promoting?

This is the deadline that guarantees that your renewal application will get approved on time. The NMLS recommends completing CE by December 8 in most states to allow enough time to process your renewal application. Many licensees wait until December 31 to complete their continuing education, then miss their renewal application deadlines. Your application will take additional time for state agencies to process, even after you complete CE.

What happens if I miss the continuing education deadline?

If you do not complete continuing education during the calendar year, you must take a designated "Late CE" course for makeup credit (look for "Late CE" in the course title). These courses become available on January 1 and apply retroactive credit to years of CE that were missed. Regular CE courses will not count for retroactive credit.

Do I need to take a "Late CE" course if my state agency has an earlier deadline than December 31?

If you complete CE on or before December 31 of the current renewal cycle, your CE is good for that year, regardless of what deadline your state agency has. Starting January 1, you must take a designated "Late CE" course to make up credits.

Do I need to take continuing education if I got my mortgage license this year?

You do NOT need to take CE if you obtained your initial mortgage license this calendar year (i.e. you took a 20-hour pre-license course). If you previously held a mortgage license and obtained additional state licenses this calendar year, you DO need to complete CE in every state you are licensed in.

Do I need to take mortgage CE if I took "Late CE" earlier this year?

Yes. "Late CE" only counts towards previous years.

Do I need to take CE if I work for a federal bank or credit union?

No. Only state-licensed loan originators need to complete SAFE Act required continuing education. Federally registered MLOs are exempt from CE requirements, but your lending institution may have its own education requirements.

How do I renew my license?

Complete your continuing education requirements, update fingerprints if needed, pay the NMLS renewal application fee, and submit your renewal applications through the NMLS website. For more information, see the MLO License Renewal Handbook and the Guide to Preparing for License Renewal.

When can I renew my license?

The annual renewal period is November 1 to December 31.

Is taking continuing education the same as renewing my license?

No! Completing CE requirements is just the first part of renewing your license. You also need to complete any license items on your NMLS profile, pay renewal fees, and submit renewal applications to state agencies through the NMLS. Your education provider cannot handle these functions for you. Make sure you start your continuing education early to allow time for the entire renewal process.

For more information, see the NMLS Education FAQ on the NMLS website.

State-Specific Mortgage Continuing Education Requirements

Each state issues its own mortgage licenses and may choose its own hour requirements for license renewal. Below are the continuing education hour requirements for each state and links to courses that fulfill the education requirements.

For additional details, see the NMLS state-specific education document.

State Total
Hours
State
Specific
State Licensing Authority
Alabama 8 0 Alabama Banking Department
Alaska 8 0 Alaska Division of Banking & Securities
Arizona 8 1 Arizona Department of Financial Institutions
Arkansas 8 0 Arkansas Security Department
California (DRE) 8 0 California Department of Real Estate
California (DFPI) 8 1 California Department of Financial Protection and Innovation
Colorado 8 0 Colorado Division of Real Estate
Connecticut 8 1 Connecticut Department of Banking
Delaware 8 0 Delaware Office of the State Bank Commissioner
District of Columbia 8 1 District of Columbia Department of Insurance, Securities and Banking
Florida 8 1 Florida Office of Financial Regulation
Georgia 8 1 Georgia Department of Banking and Finance
Guam 8 0 Guam Department of Revenue and Taxation
Hawaii 8 1 Hawaii Division of Financial Institutions
Idaho 8 1 Idaho Department of Finance
Illinois 8 0 Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation
Indiana (SOS) 8 0 Indiana Secretary of State
Indiana (DFI) 8 0 Indiana Department of Financial Institutions
Iowa 8 0 Iowa Division of Banking
Kansas 8 0 Kansas Office of the State Bank Commissioner
Kentucky 8 1 Kentucky Department of Financial Institutions
Louisiana 8 0 Louisiana Office of Financial Institutions
Maine 8 0 Maine Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection
Maryland 8 1 Maryland Commissioner of Financial Regulation
Massachusetts 8 1 Massachusetts Division of Banks
Michigan 8 0 Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services
Minnesota 8 1 Minnesota Department of Commerce
Mississippi 8 0 Mississippi Department of Banking and Consumer Finance
Missouri 8 1 Missouri Division of Finance
Montana 8 0 Montana Division of Banking & Financial Institutions
Nebraska 8 0 Nebraska Department of Banking and Finance
Nevada 8 0 Nevada Division of Mortgage Lending
New Hampshire 8 0 New Hampshire Banking Department
New Jersey 12 2 New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance
New Mexico 8 1 New Mexico Financial Institutions Division
New York 11 3 New York Department of Financial Services
North Carolina 8 1 North Carolina Commissioner of Banks Office
North Dakota 8 0 North Dakota Department of Financial Institutions
Ohio 8 0 Ohio Division of Financial Institutions
Oklahoma 8 0 Oklahoma Department of Consumer Credit
Oregon 10 2 Oregon Division of Financial Regulation
Pennsylvania 8 1 Pennsylvania Department of Banking and Securities
Puerto Rico 8 0 Puerto Rico Bureau of Financial Institutions
Rhode Island 8 1 State of Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation
South Carolina (BFI) 8 1 South Carolina Board of Financial Institutions
South Carolina (DCA) 8 1 South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs
South Dakota 8 0 South Dakota Division of Banking
Tennessee 8 0 Tennessee Department of Financial Institutions
Texas (SML) 8 0 Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending
Texas (OCCC) 8 0 Texas Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner
Utah (DRE) 9 1 Utah Division of Real Estate
Utah (DFI) 8 0 Utah Department of Financial Institutions
Vermont 8 0 Vermont Department of Financial Regulation
Virginia 8 0 Virginia Bureau of Financial Institutions
US Virgin Islands 8 0 Virgin Islands Division of Banking and Insurance
Washington 9 1 Washington Department of Financial Institutions
West Virginia 9 2 West Virginia Division of Financial Institutions
Wisconsin 8 0 Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions
Wyoming 8 0 Wyoming Division of Banking

Need Help?

Talk to a real person on the phone, by chat, or by email. We don't use annoying automation systems or AI.

Contact OnlineEd