2 Hour OR SAFE: Oregon Mortgage Regulations
2 hour state-specific online continuing education course for Oregon mortgage loan originators.
All learning is online. Start immediately. Learn on your own schedule.
Read-along audio plays the course text back to you.
Download and print your own certificate.
Includes PDF/EPUB eBook of all reading material for your tablet or Kindle.
The objective of this 2-hour Oregon mortgage licensing continuing education course is to review several of the state's consumer protection laws and review ethical conduct expected of licensees who conduct business within this state. These laws are to preserve consumer confidence in the mortgage industry and allows them some protection when facing troubling situations such as identity theft, overwhelming debt, or even a loan default. There are also regulations that outline what licensees can and cannot do when assisting a consumer with a financial transaction.
Please review the Course Syllabus for details about this course.
This course satisfies 2 hours of required continuing education for Oregon licensed mortgage loan originators. This course is approved by the NMLS. A valid NMLS ID number is required to receive credit for this course. Certain states may have additional requirements beyond what this course provides. Be sure to check with your state to see if this course meets your needs.
This course is new for 2021 and meets the SAFE Act's "successive years" rule.
+ $3.00 NMLS Credit Banking Fee
|Category:||Mortgage > Continuing Education > Oregon > CE Elective|
|Purpose:||2 hour state-specific online continuing education course for Oregon mortgage loan originators.|
|Features:||Online Text, Online Audio, Printable Certificate, PDF eBook|
NMLS Course Provider ID: 1400327
Purchase of this package requires that you read and acknowledge a Terms of Service agreement before receiving credit for any courses contained in this package. Please review the following:
NMLS Course ID: 12782
NMLS Sponsor ID: 1400327
Credit Hours Provided: 2
Category: CE Elective
This course will cover several fundamental state regulations that Oregon mortgage loan originators must be familiar with. Being familiar with important laws in Oregon's residential mortgage loan industry will ensure that mortgage loan originators are compliant with the state's expectations of MLO behavior.
This five-module course starts out with a description of the Department of Consumer and Business Services (DCBS) and its Division of Financial Regulations (DFR). We'll then review licensing requirements, financial statements, reporting changes to the DCBS, and MLO restrictions on working for a single entity in the second module of the course. The third module covers consumer disclosures in certain residential mortgage transactions, handling client trust funds, and regulations with advertising mortgage products. The fourth module covers various prohibited acts that licensees cannot participate in during the course of business, and the fifth module explains the DCBS investigation process.
This mortgage loan originator renewal license course is broken down into several learning topics. At the end of the course a 15-question final exam will be given. The topics included in this course are:
Total study time: 2 credit hours
This course will prepare Oregon-licensed MLOs to:
Total study time: 2 clock hours
You must have an NMLS ID to receive credit for this course. You will need this number before you begin the course.
If you already have an NMLS ID but don't remember what it is:
If you do not have an NMLS ID and need to obtain one, use the instructions available in the NMLS Resource Center
This course will remain available to students for 365 days after enrollment.
To provide superior distance education that exceeds industry standards and expectations in course content and delivery methods to those who seek to enter a new profession and those engaged in a profession.