Late CE 1 Hour CA-DFPI SAFE: California Mortgage Continuing Education (13821)
For NMLS licensees who need to complete 2022 continuing education requirements to REACTIVATE their inactive license in 2023.
All learning is online. Start immediately. Learn on your own schedule.
Read-along audio plays the course text back to you.
Includes PDF/EPUB eBook of all reading material for your tablet or Kindle.
Download and print your own certificate.
Continuing education is an important component to the professional development of mortgage professionals. This course fulfills the one hour CA-DFPI continuing education requirement. We will cover definitions related to state law and regulations, license law and regulations, compliance concerns (including prohibited actions), and disciplinary actions.
This Late CE course satisfies 1 hour of required California continuing education for mortgage loan originators who did not complete their continuing education requirements to renew their MLO license by the end of 2022. This course is approved by the NMLS. A valid NMLS ID number is required to receive credit for this course. Certain states may have additional requirements beyond what this course provides. Be sure to check with your state to see if this course meets your needs.
The content for this course is the same as NMLS course ID 13821 (1 Hour CA-DFPI Safe: California Mortgage Continuing Education) and is intended to satisfy CE requirements for licensees with licenses that became inactive as of January 1, 2023, because they did not complete their required NMLS continuing education during the 2022 license renewal period.
This course is NOT INTENDED FOR 2023 NMLS LICENSE RENEWAL for active licensees.
+ $1.50 NMLS Credit Banking Fee
|Category:||Vocational Training > Mortgage > Continuing Education > California > CE Elective|
|Purpose:||For NMLS licensees who need to complete 2022 continuing education requirements to REACTIVATE their inactive license in 2023.|
|Features:||Online Text, Online Audio, PDF eBook, Printable Certificate|
14355 SW ALLEN BLVD STE 240,
Portland, OR 97223
NMLS Course Provider ID: 1400327
Purchase of this package requires that you read and acknowledge an Enrollment Agreement before receiving credit for any courses contained in this package. Please review the following:
NMLS Course ID: 14316
NMLS Sponsor ID: 1400327
Credit Hours Provided: 1
Category: CE Elective
This license reinstatement course covers three important pieces of California legislation that those who are licensed with the California Department of Financial Protection and Innovation (DFPI) must be familiar with. The DFPI requires licensees who are renewing their licenses to review the California Financing Law (CFL), the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act (CRMLA), and the California Homeowner Bill of Rights (HBOR).
The course starts with the California Financing Law. This module of the course will review the licensing requirements for a finance lender, the expected conduct of those who hold these licenses, the limitations on interest rates, and the investigative powers of the Commissioner of the DFPI.
The second module will review the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act. This module will outline the conduct required to maintain a license, the surety bonding and net worth requirements, prohibited fees and owner actions, and how the Commissioner can cite licensees who don't follow the law.
The third module will highlight the California Homeowner Bill of Rights, a law passed in 2013 to give some protection to homeowners who are facing foreclosure of their residential property. This law outlines seven provisions covering dual tracking, robo-signing, single points of contact, and more.
Licensees who do not complete their annual mortgage license training may be placed in a Reinstatement Period and are prohibited from practicing mortgage loan origination activities until their licenses are reactivated and their continuing education requirements have been completed. Licensees have until the end of February to bring their licenses up to date. A penalty Reinstatement Fee may apply when renewing your license. A license will expire if it is not renewed during the Reinstatement Period.
Not every state agency allows for reinstatement of a license. Check the Annual Renewal Information page on the NMLS website to verify if the agency you are licensed under allows for reinstatement, when the last date of reinstatement is, and what the applicable penalty fees may be.
This California NMLS course is broken down into several learning topics. At the end of the course a 15-question final exam will be given. The topics included in this course are:
Total Study Time: 1 Credit Hour
This course will prepare California DFPI-licensed MLOs to:
You must have an NMLS ID to receive credit for this course. You will need this number before you begin the course.
If you already have an NMLS ID but don't remember what it is:
If you do not have an NMLS ID and need to obtain one, use the instructions available in the NMLS Resource Center
This course will remain available to students for 365 days after enrollment.
To provide superior distance education that exceeds industry standards and expectations in course content and delivery methods to those who seek to enter a new profession and those engaged in a profession.