Find this page again at:
https://www.onlineed.com/info/Mortgage/Connecticut/License-Training

How To Get A Connecticut Mortgage Loan Originator License

Learn how to become a loan officer in Connecticut, choose mortgage license courses, and get an NMLS license.

Licensing Guide Shop Courses

screenshots of courses

Steps to Getting a Mortgage License in Connecticut

To sell mortgages, you need to be licensed as a mortgage loan originator (MLO). This is also sometimes called a "loan officer" or "mortgage broker." Each state has its own license requirements for becoming a mortgage loan originator. All states use the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS) to track MLO licensing. To do business as a mortgage loan originator, you need to:

  1. Apply for an NMLS account and ID number.
  2. Complete your Connecticut mortgage Pre-license Education ("PE").
  3. Pass a licensing exam.
  4. Apply for your Connecticut mortgage license though the NMLS.
  5. Complete background checks and pay all fees.
  6. Associate your NMLS account with an employer.

1) Create Your NMLS Account

You can get started with this step right now! By starting an NMLS account, you will be assigned an NMLS Unique Identifier ("NMLS ID") which will be your license number for the rest of your mortgage career. You will need this number before you take any education or do business. Coordinate your account creation with your future employer.

Create your NMLS account here.

2) Complete Your Connecticut Pre-License Education

Before you can get your Connecticut mortgage license, you need to take required pre-license courses. These help you learn mortgage laws and procedures. Each state has different mortgage education requirements for doing business. If you work for a non-bank institution (a "mortgage company"), you must get licensed in each state that you want to do business in. The SAFE Act requires that you take 20 hours of pre-license education at a minimum. Some states have additional mortgage licensing requirements. Visit the NMLS website for a complete list of state requirements.

Connecticut Education Requirements: Take 21 hours of pre-license education and pass a licensing exam. MLO pre-license education must include 20 hours of general NMLS-approved education and a 1-hour Connecticut state-specific elective.
Shop Courses

3) Pass a Licensing Exam

After your education is completed and recorded, you need to schedule an appointment to take your licensing examination at a testing facility. This is sometimes called the "SAFE test" or "MLO exam". This exam is administrated by Prometric. Follow the guides below to schedule your exam:

How to schedule your exam

Exam scheduling quick guide

Contact Prometric at 1-877-671-6657 or visit their website.

4) Apply for a License

You will need to complete and submit an application for a mortgage loan origination license via the NMLS website. (NOTE: The mortgage company you plan to work for may fill out your application for you. Please check with them before submitting any paperwork.)

How to apply for a license

5) Background Checks

As part of your application process, most states require you to get a criminal background check, submit fingerprints, and submit to a credit report:

How to request a background check

6) Get Hired

Although you may already be working closely with your new employer, your NMLS record will need to be associated with your employer before you can receive a mortgage loan license and do business.

How to sponsor your nmls record

OnlineEd's Connecticut Mortgage Pre-License Courses

Take your mortgage licensing classes online!

  • We price-match any competitor. Just call us.
  • All courses are online. No physical attendance required.
  • Exam prep and test simulator included with all 20-hour bundles.
  • Get help with live instructor sessions.
  • Free EPUB/PDF course book is yours to keep.
  • Approved NMLS Education Provider since 2009. NMLS #1400327

Browse Courses

100% online courses, no special software required, just an internet connection.

Everything is Online

Looking to get your mortgage loan originator license training online? You're in the right place!

Our NMLS-approved MLO licensing program is delivered online so you can take the course from anywhere. The 20-hour online instructor-led course is delivered over 5 days. Your learning material and exams are all delivered through your web browser. Each day you will have the opportunity to connect with your instructor and other students taking the course via a live internet conference. This will give you the chance to ask questions, have topics explained in more detail, and get insights from industry professionals.

20-hour Mortgage license courses are delivered over a 5 day period. New classes start each week. See the schedule on the information page to pick the dates that are right for you.

The OnlineEd system is compatible with all current major browsers and operating systems.

Reviewed and approved by the NMLS for pre-license credit.

Reviewed, Approved, Authorized

Our program has been rigorously reviewed, approved, and authorized for pre-license credit by the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS).

Mortgage education courses at OnlineEd are written by OnlineEd. Because of this, we save on overhead licensing costs and can pass those savings on to you.

Start Your Mortgage Career

Start with OnlineEd's NMLS pre-license course package!

Shop Courses