2 Hour FL SAFE: Florida Mortgage Lending Laws
Mandatory Florida course for OFR mortgage licensee applicants.
All learning is online. Start immediately. Learn on your own schedule.
Read-along audio plays the course text back to you.
Includes PDF/EPUB eBook of all reading material for your tablet or Kindle.
Download and print your own certificate.
This course presents Florida law and rule requirements relating to originating mortgage loans securing residential real property located throughout the State of Florida. The purpose of this training is to prepare Florida Mortgage Loan Originator license candidates with the necessary information to ensure fair, ethical, and compliant mortgage loan origination activities.
This 2-hour course is a state-specific part of the 20 hours of required education for Florida mortgage loan originators. This package is intended for persons who have already completed the basic 20 hours or that are buying this course in conjunction with other state-specific electives.
+ $3.00 NMLS Credit Banking Fee
|Category:||Vocational Training > Mortgage > License Training > Florida > PE Elective|
|Purpose:||Mandatory Florida course for OFR mortgage licensee applicants.|
|Features:||Online Text, Online Audio, PDF eBook, Printable Certificate|
14355 SW ALLEN BLVD STE 240,
Portland, OR 97223
NMLS Course Provider ID: 1400327
Purchase of this package requires that you read and acknowledge an Enrollment Agreement before receiving credit for any courses contained in this package. Please review the following:
NMLS Course ID: 12030
NMLS Sponsor ID: 1400327
Credit Hours Provided: 2
Category: PE Elective
This course is designed to prepare candidates to take the exam to become a state-licensed mortgage loan originator in Florida under the Office of Financial Regulation (OFR). This 2-hour course covers Florida specific rules and regulations as mandated by OFR, and is required as part of the 20 hours of prelicensure education needed to become a Florida-licensed mortgage loan originator.
This course consists of five modules and a final exam:
Total study time: 2 credit hours
Let's start this course with an overview of Florida mortgage lending regulations. We'll start by outlining definitions and terminology, and then move onto those who do not need to have a mortgage license issued under Florida Statute Chapter 494. We'll also cover what would qualify as a licensee conflict of interest, and how OFR further protects consumers with their guaranty fund.
A mortgage loan originator is an individual who, directly or indirectly, solicits or offers to solicit a mortgage loan, accepts or offers to accept an application for a mortgage loan, negotiates or offers to negotiate the terms or conditions of a new or existing mortgage loan on behalf of a borrower or lender, or negotiates or offers to negotiate the sale of an existing mortgage loan to a noninstitutional investor for compensation or gain. This module will explain the Florida requirements for obtaining a mortgage loan originator license.
A mortgage broker is a person who conducts loan originator activities through one or more licensed loan originators, either employed or as independent contractors. This module will review the basic licensing requirements of mortgage brokers, branch office registrations, and limitations on fees charged by mortgage brokers.
A mortgage lender is a person making a mortgage loan or servicing a mortgage loan for others, or, for compensation or gain, directly or indirectly, selling or offering to sell a mortgage loan to a non-institutional investor. In this section we'll review the licensing requirements of a mortgage lender and the various consumer protections a lender must comply with.
The Office of Financial Regulation (OFR) has the authority to review the books and records of a person licensed under its jurisdiction. This also includes the right to investigate licensees for misconduct or violation of Florida's mortgage licensing statutes. This module will summarize OFR's enforcement actions and the various prohibited acts that may trigger an investigation of a licensee's conduct.
You must have an NMLS ID to receive credit for this course. You will need this number before you begin the course.
If you already have an NMLS ID, but don't remember what it is:
If you do not have an NMLS ID and need to obtain one, use the instructions available in the NMLS Resource Center
This course will remain available to students for 365 days after enrollment.
To provide superior distance education that exceeds industry standards and expectations in course content and delivery methods to those who seek to enter a new profession and those engaged in a profession.