4 Hour WV SAFE: West Virginia Mortgage Lending Laws
Mandatory West Virginia-specific component for DFI mortgage licensee applicants.
All learning is online. Start immediately. Learn on your own schedule.
Read-along audio plays the course text back to you.
Includes PDF/EPUB eBook of all reading material for your tablet or Kindle.
Download and print your own certificate.
This course presents West Virginia law and rule requirements relating to originating mortgage loans securing residential real property located throughout the state of West Virginia. The purpose of this training is to prepare West Virginia Mortgage Loan Originator license candidates with the necessary information to ensure fair, ethical, and compliant mortgage loan origination activities.
+ $6.00 NMLS Credit Banking Fee
|Category:||Vocational Training > Mortgage > License Training > West Virginia > PE Elective|
|Purpose:||Mandatory West Virginia-specific component for DFI mortgage licensee applicants|
|Features:||Online Text, Online Audio, PDF eBook, Printable Certificate|
NMLS Course Provider ID: 1400327
Purchase of this package requires that you read and acknowledge an Enrollment Agreement agreement before receiving credit for any courses contained in this package. Please review the following:
NMLS Course ID: 14026
NMLS Sponsor ID: 1400327
Credit Hours Provided: 4
Category: PE Elective
This course is designed to prepare candidates to take the exam to become a state-licensed mortgage loan originator in West Virginia under the Division of Financial Institutions (DFI). This 4-hour course covers state-specific rules and regulations, and is required as part of the 24 hours of prelicensure education needed to become a West Virginia licensed mortgage loan originator.
This course consists of four modules and a final exam:
The DFI, Disclosures, and Advertising (53 minutes)
Conditions and Limitations for Certain Mortgage Transactions (38 minutes)
Residential Mortgage Loans (16 minutes)
Licensing (73 minutes)
Final Exam (20 minutes)
Total study time: 4 credit hours (200 minutes)
The West Virginia Division of Financial Institutions (DFI) is the agency responsible for the supervision of mortgage loan originators, brokers, and lenders in our state. In this module, we'll introduce you to the agency that will authorize you to transact mortgage loan origination activities. We'll also cover the records that licensees must maintain to ensure compliance with West Virginia lending laws, and explain the requirements for properly advertising mortgage products and services.
When practicing mortgage loan origination, there are many rules to follow that are design to protect West Virginia consumers. In this module, we will explore some of those limited practices. We'll first explore the restrictions given to loans that are being refinanced within 24 months of their origination date, the restrictions on fees being charged to loan applicants, identify limitations on certain words as defined by West Virginia law, and discover appraiser requirements and the rules for timely distribution of loan funds.
While there are certain types of loan transactions that have specific consumer protection restrictions, there are also protections applicable to all loans made on West Virginia property. This module will explain the standard prohibited practices when originating any loan in our state.
The West Virginia Residential Mortgage Lender, Broker, and Servicer Act, codified as West Virginia Code 31-17, establishes the requirements and exemptions as for whom a license to operate as a West Virginia mortgage lender or broker is required. A companion legislation, the West Virginia SAFE Mortgage Licensing Act (WV Code 31A-17) defines the requirements and regulations for mortgage loan originator licensing. In this module, we'll explore the requirements for licensure under both acts.
You must have an NMLS ID to receive credit for this course. You will need this number before you begin the course.
If you already have an NMLS ID, but don't remember what it is:
If you do not have an NMLS ID and need to obtain one, use the instructions available in the NMLS Resource Center
This course will remain available to students for 365 days after enrollment.
To provide superior distance education that exceeds industry standards and expectations in course content and delivery methods to those who seek to enter a new profession and those engaged in a profession.