logo

Contact OnlineEd
(866)-519-9597


Find this page again at:
https://www.onlineed.com/system/pages/courses.php?f=show_details&package=404

1 Hour CA-DBO SAFE: California State Conduct and Rules

California CE Elective 1 Hour Online Self-Study

1-hour California state-specific course for DBO-licensed mortgage loan originators

This California NMLS course meets the DBO state-specific requirement for MLO annual license renewal. Learn about California State Conduct & Rules.
$19.50
Add To Cart

Included Standard:

Printable Certificate PDF & EPUB eBook

Printable Certificate

Download and print your own certificate.

PDF & EPUB eBook

Includes PDF/EPUB eBook of all reading material for your tablet or Kindle.

There are three important pieces of California legislation that those who are licensed with the California Department of Business Oversight (DBO) must be familiar with. The DBO requires licensees who are renewing their DBO licenses to review the California Finance Lenders Law (CFLL), the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act (CRMLA), and the California Homeower Bill of Rights (HBOR).

This 2019 course will cover each of the three legislations, starting with the Finance Lenders Law. This module of the course will review the licensing requirements for a finance lender, the expected conduct of those who hold these licenses, the limitations on interest rates, and the investigative powers of the Commissioner of the DBO.

The second module will review the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act. This module will outline the conduct required to maintain a license, the surety bonding and net worth requirements, prohibited fees and owner actions, and how the Commissioner can cite licensees who don't follow the law.

The third module will highlight the California Homeowner Bill of Rights, a law passed in 2013 to give some protection to homeowners who are facing foreclosure of their residential property. This law outlines seven provisions covering dual tracking, robo signing, single points of contact, and more.

Please review the Course Syllabus for details about this course.

This course satisfies 1 hour of required continuing education for California DBO licensed mortgage loan originators. This course is approved by the NMLS. A valid NMLS ID number is required to receive credit for this course. Certain states may have additional requirements beyond what this course provides. Be sure to check with your state to see if this course meets your needs.

This course is new for 2019 and meets the SAFE Act's "successive years" rule.

Summary

Price: $19.50 (USD)
+ $1.50 NMLS Credit Banking Fee
Hours: 1 Hour
Category: Mortgage > Continuing Education > California > CE Elective
Purpose: 1-hour California state-specific course for DBO-licensed mortgage loan originators
Features: printable certificate, PDF eBook

Courses Provided By:

OnlineEd
7405 SW Beveland Rd,
Portland, OR 97223
(503) 670-9278
mail@onlineed.com

Terms of Service:

Purchase of this package requires that you read and acknowledge a Terms of Service agreement before receiving credit for any courses contained in this package. Please review the following:

1 Hour CA-DBO SAFE: California State Conduct and Rules

NMLS Course ID: 10646

NMLS Sponsor ID: 1400327

Hours Provided: 1

Category: CE Elective

View Course Syllabus

There are three important pieces of California legislation that those who are licensed with the California Department of Business Oversight (DBO) must be familiar with. The DBO requires licensees who are renewing their DBO licenses to review the California Financing Law (CFL), the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act (CRMLA), and the California Homeowner Bill of Rights (HBOR).

This 2019 NMLS course will cover each of the three legislations, starting with the California Financing Law. This module of the course will review the licensing requirements for a finance lender, the expected conduct of those who hold these licenses, the limitations on interest rates, and the investigative powers of the Commissioner of the DBO.

The second module will review the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act. This module will outline the conduct required to maintain a license, the surety bonding and net worth requirements, prohibited fees and owner actions, and how the Commissioner can cite licensees who don't follow the law.

The third module will highlight the California Homeowner Bill of Rights, a law passed in 2013 to give some protection to homeowners who are facing foreclosure of their residential property. This law outlines seven provisions covering dual tracking, robo signing, single points of contact, and more.

Topics and Learning Objectives

This California NMLS course is broken down into several learning topics. At the end of the course a 15-question final exam will be given. The topics included in this course are:

  1. California Financing Law (20 minutes)
  2. California Residential Mortgage Lending Act (20 minutes)
  3. California Homeowner Bill of Rights (20 minutes)

This course will prepare California DBO-licensed MLOs to:

  • Define who is a finance lender, and the information that finance lenders are required to disclose to their borrowers.
  • Understand how the Commissioner of the Department of Business Oversight (DBO) investigates finance lenders, and the penalties that can come from discovered violations.
  • Outline the conduct expectations of those who are licensed to originate or offer residential mortgage loans.
  • Generalize the bonding and net worth requirements for licensees.
  • Recognize the many prohibited acts relating to licensee conduct.
  • Identify the investigative proceedings and potential penalties that can arise from violations of the California Residential Mortgage Licensing Act.
  • Describe the important points of the California Homeowner Bill of Rights relating to dual tracking, single points of contact, and rental tenant rights.
  • Understand how homeowners and the California Attorney General's office can enforce the HBOR.

Total study time: 1 clock hour

NMLS ID Required

You must have an NMLS ID to receive credit for this course. You will need this number before you begin the course.

If you already have an NMLS ID but don't remember what it is:

  • Login into NMLS
  • Click on the Composite View tab.
  • Click View Individual on the sub-header row.
  • The number that appears in parentheses after your name is your NMLS ID number.

If you do not have an NMLS ID and need to obtain one, use the instructions available in the NMLS Resource Center

This course will remain available to students for 365 days after purchase.

Our Mission Statement

To provide superior distance education that exceeds industry standards and expectations in course content and delivery methods to those who seek to enter a new profession and those engaged in a profession.