Catalog Effective Date: January 1, 2020
To practice property management in Oregon, you must be licensed by the Oregon Real Estate Agency. To be recognized as a property manager, you may be licensed as an independent property manager or you may be licensed as a real estate broker under the supervision of a principal broker who practices property management.
This OnlineEd Oregon Property Management pre-license training course covers the 60 hours of education required by the Oregon REA to become an independent property manager. This 60-hour course will cover real estate matters, landlord laws and regulations, and other issues that a property manager must be familiar with. The topics in this course are:
- Segment 1: Introduction to Property Management
- Segment 2: Real Estate License Law
- Segment 3: The Property Management Agreement
- Segment 4: Operating a Property Management Business
- Segment 5: Trust Funds
- Segment 6: Property Management Trust Accounting
- Segment 7: Property Financial Statements
- Segment 8: Economics and Property Management
- Segment 9: Landlord and Tenant Law
- Segment 10: Fair Housing
- Segment 11: Contract Law Basics
- Segment 12: Lease Agreements and Commercial Property Management
- Segment 13: Real and Personal Property
- Segment 14: Estates in Real Property
- Segment 15: Forms of Real Property Ownership
- Segment 16: Transfer of Title and Conveyances
- Segment 17: Private and Public Land Use Controls
- Segment 18: Financing and Foreclosure
- Segment 19: Risk Management
Throughout the segments there are activities for you to complete, including audio/visual presentations, reading assignments, and simple learning assessments (i.e., quizzes). At the end of the course, you are presented with a final learning assessment. This final exam is required by the Oregon Real Estate Agency in order to demonstrate competency in the course's subject matter, and is made up of multiple choice questions. Once you pass the final assessment with a minimum score of 75%, you have passed the course.
While the course and our delivery method will adequately prepare you for the final exam your OnlineEd Certified Designated Course Instructor is also available to help you prepare or review your results.
The course is available in English-only.
Price and Enrollment Procedures
The cost of your course represents tuition and fees. Fees are detailed in the course enrollment terms of service. If a payment plan is needed, you would like to apply for a veteran discount, or if you plan to pay using an assistance program, please call our business office, toll free, at (866) 519-9597 and ask to speak with the School Director's Office.
To enroll online, just add the course to your shopping cart and follow the instructions. You can find a demo of our course and delivery method or request more information by clicking the appropriate buttons at: https://www.onlineed.com/info/RealEstate/Oregon/LicenseTraining/ . You can enroll in the course online or by telephone. To enroll by telephone, just call our business office at (503) 670-9278 or toll free at (866) 519-9597, Monday through Friday, 9:00 AM to 4:30 PM.
To enroll online, just go to https://www.onlineed.com/info/RealEstate/Oregon/LicenseTraining/ , click on View & Buy Courses, select your course, and proceed to checkout. Enrollment online is available at any time and includes an automated tour of the course and delivery method. Once you are enrolled, you may begin your course immediately. The course is delivered wholly online, so there isn't any waiting for anything to be delivered.
Course Instructor and Applicant Support
Upon enrollment, you will be attached to an OnlineEd Designated Certified Course Instructor. Each OnlineEd instructor is an Oregon resident, licensed as Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission vocational instructor, approved as an instructor by the Oregon Real Estate Agency, an Oregon licensed real estate principal broker, has been awarded the CDEi(TM) (Certified Distance Education Instructor) by the International Certified Distance Education Certification Center; and was rigorously vetted, approved, and trained by OnlineEd to meet our requirements for online course instruction and receive our designation of Certified Course Instructor.
Your instructor is available for you to contact either by telephone or email, during scheduled hours, whenever you think contact will be helpful to review or explain course content or quizzes. Your instructor will also automatically review course assessments to make sure you understand course concepts. Our course is delivered as adult education, so you can use your instructor as little or as much as you like.
OnlineEd's chief instructor is Marilee Mascarenhas, an Oregon Principal Real Estate Broker. Ms. Mascarenhas is also our Oregon real estate license subject matter expert and assists with ongoing development and instruction of the OnlineEd course materials.
Technical support questions should be directed to OnlineEd, Inc. and not the instructor. Students are not required to use this service. OnlineEd reserves the right refuse instructor support to students that abuse this service.
You can complete your course at your own pace, but must finish it within the 120 calendar day enrollment period. If you do not finish within the enrollment period, your course will expire and no longer be accessible to you.
If your course expires, you may extend it for one-time only. Extensions are for 30 days from the date of the end of the original enrollment period (not from the date the extension is requested) and must be accompanied by the applicable extension fee. If you withdraw from the course or request a refund, and then want to continue the course, you must enroll in the course again, at the current catalog price, and start over from the beginning. Should you have a medical emergency, death in the family, or other extenuating circumstance that prevents you from completing your course during its enrollment period, you may petition the School Director for a one-time Extenuating Circumstance Extension Fee Waiver. Extenuating Circumstance Extension Fee Waivers are not automatic, are at the option of the School Director, and should be directed to the School Director's Office at: firstname.lastname@example.org.
With exception of instructor support offered by telephone and email, the course, its materials, and delivery system are entirely over the Internet. In order to be able to access and complete the course, you will need access to the Internet and an Internet-ready computer system, including a CPU, monitor, keyboard, and mouse. Our OnlineEd delivery method works with all modern web browsers and operating systems.
How To Get An Oregon Real Estate Property Manager License
To be a property manager in Oregon you must obtain a property manager real estate license from the Oregon Real Estate Agency. This can be done by following these steps:
Enroll in the OnlineEd course;
Submit a license application and pay the licensing fee (presently $230*) to the Oregon Real Estate Agency sometime before completion of your coursework;
Complete your OnlineEd Oregon property manager pre-license training course and confirm with us that you have submitted your license application to the Oregon REA by providing the nine digit ID# given to by you by the Oregon Real Estate Agency once they receive your license application;
We will upload your licensing exam eligibility file and required personal information to PSI, the licensing exam proctor;
Schedule and pay for your licensing examination (presently $75*) by contacting PSI through their web site;
Sit for and pass the licensing exam at the PSI location and time you select through the PSI web site;
At the PSI exam center, if you pass the licensing exam, complete and pay for the background authorization form and fingerprinting (presently $60*);
Pass your background check;
Decide if you will work with another property manager or under the supervision of an Oregon principal real estate broker, or if you will be working independently. If working under the license of another, the responsible individual will place your license under theirs. If working on your own, you can use the Oregon REA's online system to process your license status.
Activate and print your license!
(*OnlineEd accepts no responsibility for price increases by third parties, which do change from time-to-time. We provide them here to only let you know there are other costs associated with the licensing process.)
The fingerprints collected at the PSI testing center are sent electronically to the Oregon Real Estate Agency, who then digitally transfers them to law enforcement for processing. If you pass the licensing exam AND background check, you will receive an email from the Oregon Real Estate Agency with a hyperlink to access your license.
Oregon Real Estate Agency (website)
530 Center Street NE, Suite 100, Salem, OR 97301
Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission (website)
255 Capitol Street NE, Third Floor, Salem, OR 97310
The Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission requires you must be at least 18 years of age to enroll in this real estate pre-licensing courses.