2 Hour CA-DFPI SAFE: California Mortgage Lending Laws
Mandatory California state-specific component for DFPI mortgage licensee applicants
All learning is online. Start immediately. Learn on your own schedule.
Video segments highlight important points
Read-along audio plays the course text back to you.
Includes PDF/EPUB eBook of all reading material for your tablet or Kindle.
Download and print your own certificate.
This course presents California law and rule requirements relating to originating mortgage loans securing residential real property located throughout the State of California. The purpose of this training is to prepare California Mortgage Loan Originator license candidates with the necessary information to ensure fair, ethical, and compliant mortgage loan origination activities.
+ $3.00 NMLS Credit Banking Fee
|Category:||Mortgage > License Training > California > PE Elective|
|Purpose:||Mandatory California state-specific component for DFPI mortgage licensee applicants|
|Features:||Online Text, Online Video, Online Audio, PDF eBook, Printable Certificate|
NMLS Course Provider ID: 1400327
Purchase of this package requires that you read and acknowledge a Terms of Service agreement before receiving credit for any courses contained in this package. Please review the following:
NMLS Course ID: 11090
NMLS Sponsor ID: 1400327
Credit Hours Provided: 2
Category: PE Elective
As of September 29, 2020, the Department of Business Oversight (DBO) is called the Department of Financial Protection and Innovation (DFPI).
This course is designed to prepare candidates to take the exam to become a state-licensed mortgage loan originator in California under the Department of Business Oversight (DBO). This 2-hour course covers California specific rules and regulations, and is required as part of the 20 hours of prelicensure education needed to become a California mortgage loan originator under the DFPI.
This course consists of two sections and an exam:
Total Study Time: 2 credit hours (100 minutes)
The activities of licensed mortgage loan originators and the origination or offering of financial products for residential real property are subject to California law. This section of the course covers MLO licensing requirements, mortgage lender licensing requirements, and the California residential lending laws the MLOs must comply with.
An alternative to CRMLA licensing, the California Financing Law requires finance lenders and brokers to be registered before offering consumer or commercial loans in California. MLOs who are employed by finance lenders must be licensed under the CFL requirements. This section will cover finance lender and broker licensing, restrictions on fees that can be charged by CFL licensees, and other lending laws that CFL licensees must comply with.
You must have an NMLS ID to receive credit for this course. You will need this number before you begin the course.
If you already have an NMLS ID, but don't remember what it is:
If you do not have an NMLS ID and need to obtain one, use the instructions available in the NMLS Resource Center
This course will remain available to students for 365 days after enrollment.
To provide superior distance education that exceeds industry standards and expectations in course content and delivery methods to those who seek to enter a new profession and those engaged in a profession.