Buyer Rep
Find this page again at:
https://www.onlineed.com/catalog/1808/Late-CE-1-Hour-NM-SAFE-New-Mexico-Mortgage-Continuing-Education-14986

Late CE 1 Hour NM SAFE: New Mexico Mortgage Continuing Education (14986)

NMLS Late CE state elective.

Late CE 1-hour NMLS continuing education state-specific elective for New Mexico mortgage loan originators who did not complete education requirements during the previous year.

$29.50  |  1 Hour

+ $1.50 NMLS Credit Banking Fee

Add to Cart

product image

Late CE 1 Hour NM SAFE: New Mexico Mortgage Continuing Education (14986)

NMLS Course ID: 15579

NMLS Sponsor ID: 1400327

Credit Hours Provided: 1

Category: CE Elective

View Course Syllabus

​​​​​​​This course is approved for "Late CE" credit only.

To address the predatory lending practices, the New Mexico legislature passed the Home Loan Protection Act (HLPA). This legislature outlines the actions that creditors are prohibited from doing while working with a residential home loan that is protected by the act, and requires that loans have a reasonable, tangible benefit to the borrower.

This course will review the important provisions of the act, including a case study of how portions of the act were used in a legal court case. The first chapter of the course will review the act's definitions and purpose. The second chapter will identify specific acts and practices that creditors are not allowed to do while working with a HLPA-covered transaction. The third chapter sets out the limitations for high-cost home loans, and the fourth chapter defines the legal rights that borrowers have if in default on their loan as well as their legal rights that can be exercised against creditors who are in violation of the act.

Licensees who do not complete their annual mortgage license training may be placed in a Reinstatement Period and are prohibited from practicing mortgage loan origination activities until their licenses are reactivated and their continuing education requirements have been completed. Licensees have until the end of February to bring their licenses up to date. A penalty Reinstatement Fee may apply when renewing your license. A license will expire if it is not renewed during the Reinstatement Period.

Not every state agency allows for reinstatement of a license. Check the Annual Renewal Information page on the NMLS website to verify if the agency you are licensed under allows for reinstatement, when the last date of reinstatement is, and what the applicable penalty fees may be.

Topics and Learning Objectives

This course is broken down into four modules and a case study. At the end of the course is a 15-question final exam. The topics included in this course are:

  1. The Definitions and Purpose of the Act

  2. Creditor Prohibited Practices

  3. High-cost Home Loans

  4. Default and Right to Cure

  5. Case Study

  6. Final exam

Total study time: 1 credit hour (50 minutes)

At the end of this course, you will be able to:

  • Understand many terms that are defined by the act.
  • Outline acts and practices that are prohibited.
  • Describe how creditors can decrease their liability when dealing with high-cost loans.
  • Identify a borrower's restrictions on making a HLPA-violation claims as well as their right to cure any default.
  • Recognize the fines and penalties for violations of the act.

NMLS ID Required

You must have an NMLS ID to receive credit for this course. You will need this number before you begin the course.

If you already have an NMLS ID but don't remember what it is:

  • Login into NMLS
  • Click on the Composite View tab.
  • Click View Individual on the sub-header row.
  • The number that appears in parentheses after your name is your NMLS ID number.

If you do not have an NMLS ID and need to obtain one, use the instructions available in the NMLS Resource Center.

This course will remain available to students until midnight on December 31st, 2024

Learn More

Key Features
Online Course
All learning is online. Start immediately. Learn on your own schedule.
Online Audio
Read-along audio plays the course text back to you.
PDF & EPUB eBook
Includes PDF/EPUB eBook of all reading material for your phone, tablet, or Kindle.
Printable Certificate
Download and print your own certificate.
Images & Screenshots
Package Summary
Price: $29.50 (USD)
+ $1.50 NMLS Credit Banking Fee
Credit Hours: 1
State: New Mexico
Category: Vocational Training > Mortgage > Continuing Education > New Mexico > CE Elective
Purpose: NMLS Late CE state elective
Course Provider

OnlineEd
14355 SW ALLEN BLVD STE 240,
Portland, OR 97223
(503) 670-9278

mail@onlineed.com

NMLS Course Provider ID: 1400327

Enrollment Agreement

Purchase of this package requires that you read and acknowledge an Enrollment Agreement before receiving credit for any courses contained in this package. Please review the following:

Our Mission Statement

To provide superior distance education that exceeds industry standards and expectations in course content and delivery methods to those who seek to enter a new profession and those engaged in a profession.

Add to Cart