Buyer Rep
Find this page again at:
https://www.onlineed.com/catalog/1797/Late-CE-1-Hour-CT-SAFE-Connecticut-Mortgage-Continuing-Education-14918

Late CE 1 Hour CT SAFE: Connecticut Mortgage Continuing Education (14918)

NMLS Late CE state elective.

Late CE 1-hour NMLS continuing education state-specific elective for Connecticut licensees who did not complete education requirements during the previous year.

$29.50  |  1 Hour

+ $1.50 NMLS Credit Banking Fee

Add to Cart

product image

Late CE 1 Hour CT SAFE: Connecticut Mortgage Continuing Education (14918)

NMLS Course ID: 15567

NMLS Sponsor ID: 1400327

Credit Hours Provided: 1

Category: CE Elective

View Course Syllabus

​​​​​​​This course is approved for "Late CE" credit only.

The Connecticut Department of Banking requires mortgage licensees in this state to take a one-hour course on Connecticut mortgage lending rules as part of the licensees' annual continuing education requirement for license renewal. This course covers the four topics relating to Connecticut mortgage regulations.

This four-module course begins with an overview of the Department of Banking. We'll then review the Connecticut Abusive Home Loan Lending Practices Act (Conn. Gen. Stat. § 36a-746), various other important lending regulations, such as nonprime mortgages and title insurance issues, and conclude with a review of Connecticut mortgage licensing requirements.

Licensees who do not complete their annual mortgage license training may be placed in a Reinstatement Period and are prohibited from practicing mortgage loan origination activities until their licenses are reactivated and their continuing education requirements have been completed. Licensees have until the end of February to bring their licenses up to date. A penalty Reinstatement Fee may apply when renewing your license. A license will expire if it is not renewed during the Reinstatement Period.

Not every state agency allows for reinstatement of a license. Check the Annual Renewal Information page on the NMLS website to verify if the agency you are licensed under allows for reinstatement, when the last date of reinstatement is, and what the applicable penalty fees may be.

Topics and Learning Objectives

This course is broken down into several learning topics. At the end of the course a 15-question final exam will be given. The topics included in this course are:

  1. Overview of the Connecticut Department of Banking
  2. Connecticut Abusive Home Loan Lending Practices Act
  3. Other Mortgage and Loan Practices 
  4. Connecticut Mortgage Licensing Requirements 
  5. Final exam 

Total study time: 1 credit hour (50 minutes)

This course will prepare Connecticut DOB-licensees to:

  • Examine a case study of companies that operated in their own best interests, see how that turned out, and then recognize why it is always best to put the customer's interests first.
  • List the divisions of the Connecticut Department of Banking and explain their purposes.
  • List the required loan disclosures that a lender must provide to an applicant.
  • List the restrictions placed on high cost home loans in order to protect consumers from predatory lending.
  • Explain the restriction on direct payments to contractors and the reasons for it.
  • Explain when an applicant must be provided with a copy of an appraisal.
  • Explain what a title search and title insurance are, and when title insurance will be necessary.
  • Describe when mortgage insurance is required and the limitations placed upon it.
  • List some of the restrictions on nonprime home loans.
  • Recall who needs to be licensed in Connecticut to practice loan origination and the exceptions when licensing isn't required.
  • Outline the licensing requirements for mortgage loan originators and the additional licensing requirements for mortgage lenders and brokers
  • Describe the loan origination records that licensees are expected to maintain
  • Identify the disclosure requirements when advertising mortgage loan products
  • List prohibited actions licensee cannot participate in when originating mortgage loans

NMLS ID Required

You must have an NMLS ID to receive credit for this course. You will need this number before you begin the course.

If you already have an NMLS ID but don't remember what it is:

  • Login into NMLS
  • Click on the Composite View tab.
  • Click View Individual on the sub-header row.
  • The number that appears in parentheses after your name is your NMLS ID number.

If you do not have an NMLS ID and need to obtain one, use the instructions available in the NMLS Resource Center.

This course will remain available to students until midnight on December 31st, 2024

Learn More

Key Features
Online Course
All learning is online. Start immediately. Learn on your own schedule.
Online Audio
Read-along audio plays the course text back to you.
PDF & EPUB eBook
Includes PDF/EPUB eBook of all reading material for your phone, tablet, or Kindle.
Printable Certificate
Download and print your own certificate.
Images & Screenshots
Package Summary
Price: $29.50 (USD)
+ $1.50 NMLS Credit Banking Fee
Credit Hours: 1
State: Connecticut
Category: Vocational Training > Mortgage > Continuing Education > Connecticut > CE Elective
Purpose: NMLS Late CE state elective
Course Provider

OnlineEd
14355 SW ALLEN BLVD STE 240,
Portland, OR 97223
(503) 670-9278

mail@onlineed.com

NMLS Course Provider ID: 1400327

Enrollment Agreement

Purchase of this package requires that you read and acknowledge an Enrollment Agreement before receiving credit for any courses contained in this package. Please review the following:

Our Mission Statement

To provide superior distance education that exceeds industry standards and expectations in course content and delivery methods to those who seek to enter a new profession and those engaged in a profession.

Add to Cart