logo

Contact OnlineEd
(866)-519-9597


Find this page again at:
https://www.onlineed.com/catalog/1159/3-Hour-MA-SAFE-Massachusetts-Mortgage-Lending-Laws

3 Hour MA SAFE: Massachusetts Mortgage Lending Laws

Massachusetts Pre-License 3 Hours Online Course PE Elective

Mandatory Massachusetts state-specific component for DOB mortgage licensee applicants

This NMLS mortgage lending laws course is designed to prepare a candidate to become a licensed mortgage loan originator in Massachusetts.
$49.00
Add To Cart

Included Standard:

Online Course Online Audio PDF & EPUB eBook Printable Certificate

Online Course

All learning is online. Start immediately. Learn on your own schedule.

Online Audio

Read-along audio plays the course text back to you.

PDF & EPUB eBook

Includes PDF/EPUB eBook of all reading material for your tablet or Kindle.

Printable Certificate

Download and print your own certificate.

This course presents Massachusetts law and rule requirements relating to originating mortgage loans securing residential real property located throughout the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. The purpose of this training is to prepare MA Mortgage Loan Originator license candidates with the necessary information to ensure fair, ethical, and compliant mortgage loan origination activities.

Summary

Price: $49.00 (USD)
+ $4.50 NMLS Credit Banking Fee
Credit Hours: 3
Category: Mortgage > License Training > Massachusetts > PE Elective
Purpose: Mandatory Massachusetts state-specific component for DOB mortgage licensee applicants
Features: Online Text, Online Audio, PDF eBook, Printable Certificate

Courses Provided By:

OnlineEd
7405 SW Beveland Rd,
Portland, OR 97223
(503) 670-9278
mail@onlineed.com

Terms of Service:

Purchase of this package requires that you read and acknowledge a Terms of Service agreement before receiving credit for any courses contained in this package. Please review the following:

3 Hour MA SAFE: Massachusetts Mortgage Lending Laws

NMLS Course ID: 12105

NMLS Sponsor ID: 1400327

Credit Hours Provided: 3

Category: PE Elective

View Course Syllabus

​​​​​​​This course is designed to prepare candidates to take the exam to become a state-licensed mortgage loan originator in Massachusetts under the Massachusetts Division of Banks (DOB). This 3-hour course covers Massachusetts specific rules and regulations, and is required as part of the 20 hours of prelicense education needed to become a Massachusetts-licensed mortgage loan originator.

Topics and Learning Objectives

This course consists of five modules and a final exam:

  1. The Licensing of Mortgage Loan Originators, Brokers, and Lenders
  2. License Requirements and Regulations 
  3. Late Payment Limits and High-Cost Mortgage Fee Regulations 
  4. Licensee Conduct and Examinations 
  5. Licensee Fair Lending Evaluations, and the Community Reinvestment Act 
  6. Final Exam

Total study time: 3 clock hours 

Module 1: The Licensing of Mortgage Loan Originators, Brokers, and Lenders

The Division of Banks must first authorize a person the appropriate license before they can participate in mortgage loan origination activities. This chapter explains the DOB requirements for obtaining a mortgage loan originator license, a mortgage broker license, and a mortgage lender license. We'll also cover the annual responsibilities for maintaining the authority granted by the DOB.

Module 2: License Requirements and Regulations 

Now that a license has been granted, a licensee has many recordkeeping requirements to comply with to ensure that they meet the minimum requirements for licensure. In this chapter, we'll cover how to properly maintain books and records, manage client funds accounts, and publish clear advertisements. After that, we'll go over reverse mortgage regulations that are specific to Massachusetts, and the importance of ensuring a mortgage refinance is in the borrower's best interests.

Module 3: Late Payment Limits and High-Cost Mortgage Fee Regulations 

Mortgage regulations also protect borrowers from excessive fees. This chapter outlines the limitations on charging borrowers penalties for submitting late payments. We'll also cover fee restrictions and disclosure requirements when working with a high-cost mortgage loan.

Module 4: Licensee Conduct and Examinations 

Improper licensee conduct can result in lost of DOB authorization. We'll now go through various prohibited acts and practices that may result in loss of license. We'll also explain how the state attorney general and DOB Commissioner can bring actions against licensees, including fines, license suspension, and revocation.

Module 5: Licensee Fair Lending Evaluations, and the Community Reinvestment Act 

In this last chapter we'll outline how the DOB reviews a mortgage lender's records to ensure that the lending requirements of the community are being met in a fair and undiscriminatory way.  This review includes a Mortgage Lender Community Investment (MLCI) evaluation. We will identify the steps of a MLCI exam and the possible ratings that a lender can be assigned after the DOB's completion of the lending records.

NMLS ID Required

You must have an NMLS ID to receive credit for this course. You will need this number before you begin the course.

If you already have an NMLS ID, but don't remember what it is:

  • Login into NMLS,
  • Click on the Composite View tab, then
  • Click View Individual on the sub-header row.
  • The number that appears in parentheses after your name is your NMLS ID number.

If you do not have an NMLS ID and need to obtain one, use the instructions available in the NMLS Resource Center

This course will remain available to students for 365 days after enrollment.

Our Mission Statement

To provide superior distance education that exceeds industry standards and expectations in course content and delivery methods to those who seek to enter a new profession and those engaged in a profession.