Individuals who want to practice real estate in the State of Florida are required to be licensed with the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulations (DBPR). This online course meets DBPR and Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC) requirements to train licensee applicants on how to participate in the real estate industry as a real estate sales associate.
The 63-hour FREC Course I: Florida Sales Associate License Training course covers the required educational study topics as outlined by the FREC. The chapters covered in this course are:
- The Real Estate Business
- Real Estate License Law and Qualifications for Licensure
- Real Estate License Law and Commission Rules
- Authorized Relationships, Duties and Disclosure
- Real Estate Brokerage Activities and Procedures
- Violations Of License Law, Penalties and Procedures
- Fair Housing and Other Federal and State Laws Affecting Real Estate
- Property Rights
- Title and Deeds
- Ownership Limitations and Restrictions
- Lease Agreements
- Legal Descriptions
- Real Estate Contracts
- Conditions and Contingencies
- Residential Mortgages
- Types of Mortgages and Sources of Financing
- Closing of Transactions
- Real Estate Mathematics
- The Real Estate Markets and Analysis
- Real Estate Appraisal
- Real Estate Investments and Business Opportunity Brokerage
- Taxes Affecting Real Estate
- Planning, Zoning, and Environmental Hazards
This course is presented in an online format that allows students to complete the course at their own pace. This course can be viewed on your desktop computer, laptop, tablet, or mobile device. Each chapter in the course contains reading materials and small quizzes to help enforce the concepts taught in the chapter.
At the end of the course is a 100-question final exam. Florida regulations allows students only two attempts at the final exam. If a student fails the final exam the first time, then a 30-day waiting period is enacted. Once the 30 days have elapsed, the student may take a second attempt to pass the final exam. If the exam is failed a second time, then the student will fail the course. Pleas keep these regulations in mind when preparing for the course final exam.
How to Become a Real Estate Sales Associate in Florida
To obtain a Florida real estate sales associate license, the Department of Business and Professional Regulations (DBPR) requires that an applicant must be at least 18 years of age or older, hold a high school diploma or equivalent, complete a 63-hour prelicense course, and pass the state licensing exam with a score of 75% or higher.
The FREC I Course
The FREC I course will meet the educational requirements to take the real estate sales associate state licensing exam. The course will take approximately 52 hours to complete (63 "clock hours" of 50 minutes each) and covers the topics as outlined by the FREC.
Applying for a License
Either before or after passing the FREC 1 final exam, you will apply for a sales associate license with the DBPR. Sales associate candidates must apply to the DBPR before they will be permitted to schedule the state licensing exam with Pearson VUE, the state's licensing exam proctor. Applying for the sales associate license will be done through the DBPR's myfloridalicense.com website or by mailing in a paper application. For online applications, you will need to first create an account to use the DBPR Online Services:
Applying for the sales associate license will cost $89. After submitting the application, the DBPR will notify Pearson VUE once the application has been approved. Pearson VUE will then send an authorization letter to the sales associate candidate notifying him or her that they qualify to take the state licensing exam. The FREC 1 pre-licensure course completion certificate will be presented at the license exam testing center and not at the time of applying for the sales associate license.
You may have your fingerprints electronically filed either before or after you submit your license application. Fingerprinting must be done through the Florida Department of Law Enforcement's LiveScan Program. You can find a LiveScan location on the FDLE's web site. There are locations throughout the state and each may have its own set of fees you will have to pay. It is recommended that you call your selected location to check on available hours and fee requirements.
Passing the State Exam
After you receive an authorization letter from Pearson VUE that you qualify for the sales associate licensing exam, you may contact them at 1-888-204-6289 to schedule the exam. You may also schedule from their website, pearsonvue.com. At registration you will be asked for the candidate information number listed on the authorization letter. There are testing centers in many areas of the state (e.g., Orlando, Jacksonville, Coral Gables, and Lakeland to name a few). The real estate sales associate exam will cost $31.50.
The test will be delivered electronically via computer and contains 100 multiple choice questions. Candidates will have three and a half hours to complete the exam with a score of 75% or higher. An exam report will be issued immediately upon completing the exam.
Activating Your License
Once the DBPR has been notified of your successful license exam test results, which can take up to 48 hours, a sales associate license will be issued to you in inactive status. You cannot practice real estate until your license has become active. Florida sales associates need to be supervised by a licensed Florida real estate broker to ensure that regulations are followed as well as to protect the real estate buying public. You will need to find a responsible broker to work under. That broker can use the DBPR Online Services to activate your license under his or her broker's license.