Contact OnlineEd

Find this page again at:

1 Hour CO SAFE: 2018 Colorado Mortgage Lending Laws

This course meets the DORA state-specific requirement for MLO annual license renewal through the NMLS.


Add To Cart Read More

Online Course
Printable Certificate
PDF & EPUB eBook
Add To Cart

At A Glance:

Price: $20.50 (USD)
+ $1.50 NMLS Credit Banking Fee
Purpose: 1-hour Colorado state-specific course for DORA-licensed mortgage loan originators
Features: online text, printable certificate, PDF eBook
Hours: 1 Hour
Category: Mortgage > Continuing Education > Colorado > CE Elective
Sponsor /
7405 SW Beveland Rd,
Portland, OR 97223
(503) 670-9278

Terms of Service:

1-hour Colorado state-specific course for DORA-licensed mortgage loan originators

NMLS Course ID: 7987

NMLS Sponsor ID: 1400327

View Course Syllabus

Mortgage loan originators licensed under the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) Division of Real Estate are required to take one hour of Colorado regulation education every renewal period to keep their licenses in active status. This course includes the DRE mandated topics for the 2018 mortgage licensee renewal cycle.

This course begins with an overview of recent updates to Colorado Revised Statutes (CRS), and the actions that can subject a licensee to disciplinary action by the Division. The second module will go over four Colorado-specific forms that must be used during certain mortgage transaction situations. The third and last module is a review of rules to follow when promoting or advertising mortgage products to the public.

Topics and Learning Objectives

This course is broken down into several learning topics. At the end of the course a 15-question final exam will be given. The topics included in this course are:

  1. New Colorado Regulations (14 minutes)
  2. Colorado-specific Forms (16 minutes)
  3. Advertising and Colorado-specific Requirements (10 minutes)
  4. Final exam (10 minutes)

Total study time: 1 clock hour (50 minutes)

This course will prepare Colorado DRE-licensed MLOs to:

  • Summarize actions that may result in initial license denial, license revocation, fines, probation, or restitution.
  • Identify when a licensee is permitted to hire an unlicensed individual.
  • Outline the reporting requirements and timing for a licensee when involved in a legal proceeding.
  • Describe the updated exemption to licensing for family members
  • Recognize the specific disclosures that need to be given during specific transaction situations.
  • Recognize what types of commercial messages meets the definition of advertising.
  • Outline the required information that must be included on all mortgage advertisements.
  • Review the Guidance on Non-Traditional Mortgage Product Risks.
  • Identify marketing and promotional items that are not subject to DRE's advertisement rules.

NMLS ID Required

You must have an NMLS ID to receive credit for this course. You will need this number before you begin the course.

If you already have an NMLS ID but don't remember what it is:

  • Login into NMLS
  • Click on the Composite View tab.
  • Click View Individual on the sub-header row.
  • The number that appears in parentheses after your name is your NMLS ID number.

If you do not have an NMLS ID and need to obtain one, use the instructions available in the NMLS Resource Center

Our Mission Statement

To provide superior distance education that exceeds industry standards and expectations in course content and delivery methods to those who seek to enter a new profession and those engaged in a profession.
Purchase of this package requires that you read and acknowledge a Terms of Service agreement before receiving credit for any courses contained in this package. Please review the following: