FIRST TIME LICENSE RENEWAL COURSE (Required) - This Real Estate broker class is approved by the Oregon Real Estate Agency (OREA) and complies with Agency requirements for Oregon licensees who are renewing their real estate broker license for the first time. Licensees are required to take 30 hours of continuing education every 2 years to keep their broker license active and must complete a 27-hour Advanced Practices course and a 3-hour Law and Rule Required Course (LARRC) at their first license renewal.
This Oregon Real Estate Broker Advanced Practices post-licensing class is divided into six regulation-required topics:
- Business Ethics
- The Duty to Disclose
- Agency Law
- Real Estate Agency Disciplinary Actions
- Economics and the Real Estate Brokerage Business
- Property Management
Each topic segment is divided into smaller segments that cover specific facts, information, and details. Short questions will appear between pages to help students comprehend the presented information. There may also be open discussions where students can give their opinions based on what they've experienced during their first few years as real estate brokers.
At the end of the course is a 60-question final exam. The final exam is not timed, requires a minimum passing score of 75%, and can be taken as many times as necessary to pass.
After successfully completing the final exam for this 27-hour course, a course completion certificate will be generated. This certificate should be printed and kept with your education files as proof of meeting the OREA-required first-time renewal education course. You are not required to send this certificate to the Agency, but must have it available if the Agency requests it.
Note: Oregon Real Estate Agency regulations now require students to spend the required amount of seat time on continuing education courses. Students will need to study the materials for 27 clock hours (50 minutes per hour) before gaining access to the final exam to complete this course.