Minnesota Real Estate Continuing Education
Get your Minnesota license renewed quickly by signing up for convenient online courses! Don't risk letting your license expire by putting off your renewal education until the last minute. Start working on your license renewal today!
How To Renew Your Minnesota Real Estate License
The Minnesota Department of Commerce manages the license renewals for real estate salespersons and brokers. Both license types are required to take 30 hours of continuing education within the 2 year license activation period. The department requires 15 hours to be completed in the first year, and the second 15 hours be completed in the second year (MN statutes 82.32 (a)).
There are also mandatory subjects that must be covered in the 30 hours of education:
- At least 1 hour must be in the topics of law or topics of agency disclosure and regulation.
- At least 1 hour must be in the topics of fair housing laws, fair housing regulations, rules for preventing discrimination, or "courses designed to help licensees to meet the housing needs of immigrant and other underserved populations".
A licensee will not get additional credit for a course that he/she takes more than once during the same licensing period.
License renewal is done through PearsonVUE's www.pulseportal.com website. For salespersons, the sponsoring broker must confirm the continuing education requirements have been met by using the PULSE site. Copies of the course completion certificates must be kept by the salesperson and broker, and do not need to be sent to PearsonVUE. The Minnesota DoC will randomly select individuals for an education audit, and the course completion certificates would need to be presented if requested.